Farm Fresh: First Birthday Celebration

Well, September is here! Soon enough we’ll be enjoying pumpkins, cool weather (maybe!), fall decorations and more family get-togethers as the season changes. I CANNOT WAIT. I love this time of year. But I won’t deny that I loved summer too, and last weekend we ended it with a fun family party for our little girl who turned the big ONE.

DSC_0718

 

I have to be honest – I’d been planning her party for some time…several months to be exact. And it’s not that I wanted her to grow up so fast (believe me, passing the first year has brought on lots of tears!), but we love to come together as a family, eat and enjoy each other’s company. Plus, it gave me good reason to do what I love – decorate! I had a lot of fun planning a girl party.

If there was one piece of advice I could give to anyone hosting a party that would be to get someone to take pictures for you. Trust me, you will not have the time to take pictures of every detail. I have a camera and I love to take pictures, but I learned after having my son’s birthday parties, the Mom of the party stays so busy. I’m so thankful to my mother-in-law that she brings her own camera and snaps all the pictures for us.

Anna Claire birthday invitation

 

Everything was handmade for the party – the invitations, first birthday poster, banners, the barn backdrop, her birthday dress (made by my mother-in-law), flower arrangements, cake, wooden cutouts. I still can’t believe I got it all done. Usually, there’s always something left out!

DSC_0703

 

PicMonkey Collage

DSC_0712

PicMonkey Collage5

 Her cake was inspired from a county fair birthday party I saw on Pinterest. When I saw it, I thought it would be perfect. And who doesn’t love strawberry shortcake??

PicMonkey Collage2

The cake topper was custom made from my work, Build-A-Cross. We got several and used them in the flower arrangements as well as on the cake.PicMonkey Collage4

PicMonkey Collage3

PicMonkey Collage6  PicMonkey Collage7

Anna Claire had a great first birthday. Thank you to everyone who came! The kids had fun, the food was good, and most importantly we were all together to celebrate our sweet girl’s big day.

SOURCES:

Farm animals wooden cutouts, chicken picture frame, wooden ‘1’ cutout, cake toppers – Build-A-Cross (www.build-a-cross.com)

Painted chicken chair – custom made from Build-A-Cross

Glitter party hats – Meri Meri party hats (purchased at Old Navy)

Egg carton treat boxes, berry baskets – Hobby Lobby

‘Happy Birthday’ banner & ‘One’ banner supplies – Michaels

 

Leave a comment